BRISLA Awards 2020 – Diversity and unity awards seek the next generation of role models

BRISLA who are supporting the British Sri Lankan community in the UK is appealing to the next generation of role models to enter the 2020 BRISLA (British Sri Lankan Association) Awards.

Returning for a 6th year, the Awards honour the hard work and dedication of individuals and organisations that embody BRISLA’s mission to achieve a cohesive, fair and prosperous society.

For 2020, the BRISLA Awards will focus on today’s visionaries and tomorrow’s upcoming BRISLA champions.

Dr Zimar Sivardeen, Chair of the not-for-profit organisation, says a new focus that celebrates and spots new, emerging visionaries is essential for BRISLA as we go into the next decade.

Dr Sivardeen comments:  ‘The 2020 Awards will rightly recognise the tireless of work of many established organisations and individuals who have invested their time over the years to instigate positive change.’

‘But we also want to use our Awards stage to inspire the next generation coming through.  The next decade will see significant changes in how we trade in a post-Brexit world, and promoting unity and celebrating diversity will remain more paramount.’

Mrs Chani Simms, Secretary of BRISLA is aware how pivotal the next generation will be as they take on the baton from established BRISLA supporters in the years to come.

Chani adds: ‘It’s important we inspire and support them and the BRISLA Awards provides the perfect stage for us to do this.

‘Their vision for future years needs to be heard and we expect to be impressed by their approaches that will no doubt utilise new technologies and communications strategies to achieve their goals.  By bringing together BRISLA veterans and new emerging talent, we expect to create a new and exciting dynamic at our 2020 Awards ceremony.’

The BRISLA Awards’ categories provides a platform to celebrate and recognise both individuals and organisations who have achieved a commercial goal that benefits the Sri Lankan community right through to improving life quality for those less fortunate.

This year, the Awards will be hosted on 16th October at the House of Lords in London.

The Award Categories are as follows

  • Outstanding Achievement in the Professions
  • Outstanding Young British Sri Lankan of the Year
  • Outstanding Friend to the BRISLA community
  • Outstanding Contribution to Leadership
  • Outstanding Contribution to Innovation
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

This special award recognises members of the BRISLA community who have dedicated their lives to their field, and have achieved great things. As with all of the BRISLA awards, we are particularly looking for those who have had an impact on the BRISLA values of unity, cooperation, peace and inclusion.

Dr Zimar Sivardeen concludes: ‘Each year, we are always impressed by the amazing entries and on the night, everyone in the room is always galvanised and inspired to keep the momentum going with their fantastic work to create harmonious, inclusive communities.  With the addition of fresh, younger talent in the room, we expect 2020 to be our best year yet.’

Please send your nominations to any Members of the Executive Committee members or Dr Zimar Sivardeen on

You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *